Knowledge Base

User management

Last Modified:
14 Dec 2018
User Level:
Power User

Description

Users are assigned various permissions and responsibilities. To manage the users, the system has a User management function that matches users with the appropriate permissions and responsibilities. 

To modify or create new users for use within the system, go to System administration > User rights & roles > User management  

You have several options to choose from this starting point. The Search functions lets you enter a name or username to fetch their records. There are two search box options - Select user level and Select user group. These serve as short cut methods for these categories. If you wish to see the Users by type - you can click any of the blue tabs, including the first on the far left that enables you to see all users. To create a new user, click the Create new user button.

You can choose a User type grouping them by type, or as a master list "All users". To click All users tab gives you this result:

This shows the table of all users - the results are listed by:

  • Username: this can be for an individual or group.
  • Name: the user's first name and last name
  • User type: this is the five types of users (Visitor, Contributor, Moderator, Power user, and Administrator)
  • Action button: click this button and you can choose to view their Access Rights, Edit or Delete the corresponding user in that row.

If Power Users are configured to be able to Edit users, they are able to see Visitors, Contributors and Moderators who are in the same Group as the Power User.

Create a user

Power Users are only able to create users if it has been configured that they are able to Add users. This is configured in the Role customization.

After you click the green Create new user button, the system opens to this page. This image represents a portion of the page. Additional sections are presented below:

When you are creating a new user you begin with this screen image.

ItemDescription
Enabled To ensure that the rights and roles of the user are in place, confirm that the Enable button in the upper right corner is place in the Enabled position. You can create a user and not enable their rights and roles pending the user becoming an active participant on the site. If you wish to disable the user at this point - move the Enable button to the Disabled position. 
First name * This can only be changed by a Power User or Administrator after the user is added.
Last name * This can only be changed by a Power User or Administrator after the user is added.
Username * This cannot be changed after the user is added.
Password * Consisting of at least six characters. The characters are not displayed on screen. When safe passwords are used, certain passwords are not accepted by TERMINALFOUR.
Confirm password *  
Email address * This address is used for notifications and alerts. Ensure it represents an actively used address.
User type Sets the user level. This restricts access to parts of TERMINALFOUR based on the user level
TERMINALFOUR user interface language Sets the language for the TERMINALFOUR user interface
Default language Sets the language for written content (for multiple language content)
HTML editor Choose either TinyMCE or Standard textarea - your choice can be changed at a later date. If custom versions of TinyMCE have been created, these will be available in the list.
Preview channel Sets the channel to preview content. If a default preview channel has been specified in more than one place, the system applies the following logic: 
  1. Check the user profile - if a default channel has been set, this is used.
  2. Check the user's group profile - if a default channel has been set and no default channel is set for the individual user, the group setting is used.
  3. Check the Role customization - if a default channel has neither been set for the individual user, nor for the group(s) the user belongs to, the default channel specified in the Role customization is used.

If no default channel is set at all, the user is prompted to select the desired channel whenever previewing content.

Assign channels See below 
Community access Assign access to the TERMINALFOUR community pages
Authentication methods Configure authentication methods available for this user. In this final section of the form is where you indicate what authentication methods are necessary for the user. The three columns are for the Name, Status and Identifier. Select status to correspond with the user's requirements. Using the user's username - enter the username as the identifier. This is optional.

You may have additional elements, if you use an Extended user details content type. This will vary from installation to installation. If such elements are present populate them with the appropriate information.

Assign channels

For Power users and potentially Moderators, depending on the minimum user level selected for the 'Publish now' minimum user level When assigned to channel/microsite in Role customization.

When the user is designated a Power user or Moderator then the user is permitted to publish specific channels, or micro sites, or both. This enables the User to run a manual publish of the selected channels or microsites. Make the appropriate selections and then proceed to Community access.

If your entries are complete, you can now click Save changes to record a new user.

How to access a user profile

If you need to make changes to a User profile, you have to search for the user. This image below shows your options:

Using the Search box your results (if found) are presented like this:

To view the complete profile you can click the Username, the Name, or Edit (on the Actions button). This action takes you to:

Modify (Edit) user

Power Users are only able to edit users if it has been configured that they are able to Edit users. This is configured in the Role customization. If enabled, they are able to edit Visitors, Contributors and Moderators that are in the same group as the Power User.

As with the create a user page - there are several sub-sections on this page - this would be the same for this Modify page too.

Regardless of what method you use to find a User profile, you end up with this view of a profile. After you arrive here you can make changes to all the main items and sub-sections

Delete

A deletion always results if the loss of data and it is not recoverable. Deleting a user will remove all history of that user including the username (and details) in the Audit trail and content history when editing content. It is recommended to rather deisable the user in order to retain those records.

Power Users are only able to delete users if it has been configured that they are able to Delete users. This is configured in the Role customization. If enabled, they are able to delete Visitors, Contributors and Moderators that are in the same group as the Power User.

There are two methods of deleting a user.

  1. From the Actions button (located on the Search results, or in a table format) you can click the Delete button. The popup window "Confirm delete" appears.
  2. When you have a User profile open - the Delete button is located at the bottom of the page. When you click the Delete button the "Confirm delete" popup window appears.

Disable user

On the User profile page is an Enable button. As discussed with creating a user, this button must be in the Enable position for the user to exercise their rights and roles. You have the option of disabling these rights and roles without deleting the user. This is done on the User profile page. In the upper right corner is the Enable button.

In this position the user's rights and roles are enabled.

When moved to this position, the user's rights and roles are suspended until such time as the Enable button is returned to the enabled position.

Remember - the User profile is not deleted when in this position and can be 'searched' as it was when enabled.

When you have completed this action, ensure you click the Save changes button.

Access rights

This presents the Username, Name, User type and an Actions button. In this example you can see the options you have if you click the Actions button.

The term Access rights includes Assigned sections and Groups. When you click Access rights the screen shown below appears:

There are two tabs in this popup screen - Assigned sections and Groups.

The second tab, Groups, it lists the sections to which the user has access, based on their Group permissions.